
MBBS Abroad 2026-27 for Indian Students
Fifteen destinations with WDOMS-listed universities, compared on what those universities publish as fees and how many of their graduates cleared the FMGE.
15
Destinations
WDOMS-listed
Recognition
₹14L+
Russia packages from
English
Medium
Why Study MBBS Abroad in 2026?
NMC's 2026-27 MBBS seat matrix (as on 18 Sep 2026, excluding Institutes of National Importance such as AIIMS) lists 1,40,664 MBBS seats across 839 Indian colleges. NTA held the NEET UG 2026 re-examination for over 22.79 lakh candidates. That is about 16 candidates for every seat on the matrix, and it is why students who qualified NEET but missed a government seat compare WDOMS-listed universities abroad, from Russia and Georgia to Bangladesh and the Caribbean. Every destination on this page teaches in English, though course length and entry rules vary, and leads back to the same exam: the FMGE, which foreign graduates take until the National Exit Test comes into force.
Compared With Indian Private Fees
Six-year Russian packages start around $14,900 (₹14 lakh at today's rate) versus ₹60 lakh–₹1.5 crore for the full course at an Indian private medical college (indicative; the binding figure is the fee notified by each state Fee Regulatory Committee) - with no donation or capitation fee.
Check the Degree Against FMGL-2021
NMC approves no foreign university. What decides an Indian licence is whether the degree meets FMGL-2021: at least 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution, English medium and a licence to practise in that country, then a 12-month internship in India.
English Medium, Entry Rules Vary
Every programme on this page is taught in English, but entry rules differ: in Nepal only some foreign seats require its MECEE-BL entrance exam; Ross in Barbados takes only applicants with a bachelor's degree; and one Philippine college on our list asks for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 75. Each country page sets out its rules.
Global Career Pathways
Clinical training in teaching hospitals, with onward routes to the FMGE for India (until the National Exit Test comes into force), USMLE for the USA and PLAB for the UK - from Central Asian programmes to EU degrees and Caribbean MD routes.
All 15 destinations: published fees and the FMGE record
Fees as the universities publish them, in their own currency; sorted by 2024 FMGE pass rate
| Country | Published fees, our roster* | FMGE 2024 (passed of appeared) | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Uzbekistan | Fergana US$3,500 a year (2025-26); Andijan publishes none | 197 of 490 (40.2%) | MBBS in Uzbekistan → |
| Georgia | US$5,900–7,000 a year at four roster universities (only GAU states the year: 2026-27); DTMU publishes none | 1,505 of 4,221 (35.7%) | MBBS in Georgia → |
| Belarus | US$4,920–6,300 a year, English-medium General Medicine (2026/27) | 168 of 485 (34.6%) | MBBS in Belarus → |
| Bangladesh | US$42,500–49,000 for the full course: the totals four private colleges publish (latest editions; what each includes differs) | 914 of 2,822 (32.4%) | MBBS in Bangladesh → |
| Nepal | KUSMS US$75,000 for the course (2026 intake); BPKIHS US$70,000 tuition for the course (its 2022 scheme) | 545 of 1,809 (30.1%) | MBBS in Nepal → |
| Russia | US$14,900–44,300 estimated six-year package at budget and mid-tier universities, US$49,800–126,000 at premium ones: tuition, hostel and insurance, computed live from university fee orders | 3,331 of 11,276 (29.5%) | MBBS in Russia → |
| Tajikistan | Not published: Avicenna, the one roster university, publishes no tuition | 311 of 1,196 (26.0%) | MBBS in Tajikistan → |
| Kazakhstan | Astana KZT 3,000,000 a year (2026-27); SKMA KZT 1,708,000 a year (2025-26); Karaganda US$4,675 for year one (2026-27); Semey prints only an estimate | 1,261 of 5,018 (25.1%) | MBBS in Kazakhstan → |
| Kyrgyzstan | Year one: KSMA KGS 306,100 and KRSU KGS 290,000 (2026-27), Osh KGS 254,000 (2025-26); three others publish none | 3,792 of 15,135 (25.1%) | MBBS in Kyrgyzstan → |
| Philippines | OLFU US$3,500 per semester + one-time US$6,000 foreign fee (year one, year not stated); the other seven publish no international tuition | 2,003 of 9,967 (20.1%) | MBBS in Philippines → |
| Armenia | YSMU AMD 2,600,000 a year (2026-27); Mkhitar Gosh AMD 1,358,000 and Haybusak AMD 1,400,000, period and year not stated | 415 of 2,349 (17.7%) | MBBS in Armenia → |
| America (Caribbean MD) | Ross US$25,811 per Foundations semester (semesters 1–5) and US$30,500 per clinical semester (2026-27); SGU publishes US$389,987 in tuition and administrative fees for its 4-year MD (2026/27 rates) | Only AUB is listed: 17 of 29 candidates (58.6%), NBEMS 2024 - too few to be reliable | MBBS in America → |
| Barbados | AUB US$6,500–11,800 per semester before clinical sciences and US$15,000 per clinical semester (year not stated); Ross US$25,811 per Foundations semester and US$30,500 per clinical semester (2026-27) | AUB only: 17 of 29 candidates (58.6%), NBEMS 2024 - too few to be reliable | MBBS in Barbados → |
| Guyana | University of Guyana US$8,853 tuition for year one + US$250 yearly facilities fee; no later-year tuition published | No country total compiled; University of Guyana is not in the 2024 report | MBBS in Guyana → |
| Poland | 2026/27: EUR 16,000–18,800 a year (Jagiellonian, Warsaw); PLN 64,200–71,000 in year one (Gdansk, Wroclaw, Poznan); Lublin US$9,120 per semester | 7 candidates from two universities, too few for a pass rate | MBBS in Poland → |
*Each fee is quoted in the currency the university publishes, with the period and year it gives, for the universities on our page for that country; the sources are cited there. Where a university publishes no fee, we say so rather than estimate one. We do not convert these fees to rupees or add up course totals a university does not print, which is also why the table cannot be sorted by price. Russia's figure is the six-year package (tuition, hostel and insurance) computed from university fee orders at the live exchange rate. Fees change every year, so contact us for an exact quote for a specific university. FMGE column: NBEMS institute-wise 2024 report, totalled by country; where we have not compiled a country total, the cell says what the report lists, and a cohort under 30 candidates is too small to be reliable. Across all countries, 20,382 of 79,000 candidates passed in 2024 (25.8%).
Explore MBBS Destinations by Country
WDOMS-listed universities in 15 countries · English medium · check each degree against FMGL-2021
Our Main DestinationMBBS in Russia
Our main destination: 50 Russian universities profiled on this site, each checked against WDOMS and its NBEMS record. Six-year packages start around $14,900. FMGE passes for Russia-trained candidates: 3,331 of 11,276 candidates (29.5%), NBEMS 2024.
Strong FMGE RecordMBBS in Georgia
A six-year MD taught in English. Georgia has the highest 2024 FMGE pass rate of any destination with 4,000+ candidates: 1,505 of 4,221 candidates (35.7%), NBEMS 2024. Four of the five roster universities publish US$5,900–7,000 a year in tuition; living is extra.
State UniversitiesMBBS in Belarus
Four state medical universities, each publishing 2026/27 tuition in US dollars: US$4,920–6,300 a year for English-medium General Medicine. FMGE passes: 168 of 485 candidates (34.6%), NBEMS 2024.
WDOMS-listedMBBS in Kazakhstan
A short flight from Delhi. Astana publishes KZT 3,000,000 a year and Karaganda US$4,675 for year one (both 2026-27). The Embassy of India in Astana advised on 1 Oct 2026 that the standard course is now seven years, with a six-year fast track for international students that the Embassy cannot yet confirm leads to a licence to practise. FMGE passes: 1,261 of 5,018 candidates (25.1%), NBEMS 2024, close to the all-country average.
Biggest FMGE CohortMBBS in Kyrgyzstan
Year-one tuition is published in Kyrgyz som: KGS 306,100 at KSMA and KGS 290,000 at KRSU for 2026-27, KGS 254,000 at Osh for 2025-26. It sends the biggest cohort of any country to the FMGE, 3,792 of 15,135 candidates (25.1%), NBEMS 2024, so the university you pick matters more than the country average.
EU DegreeMBBS in Poland
An EU degree: 2026/27 tuition is EUR 16,000–18,800 a year at Jagiellonian and Warsaw, and PLN 64,200–71,000 for year one at Gdansk, Wroclaw and Poznan. It makes sense when the plan is a career in Europe. NBEMS 2024 lists only 7 candidates from Polish universities, too few for a pass rate.
Nearby DestinationMBBS in Bangladesh
Right across the border. Four private colleges publish full-course totals of US$42,500–49,000, and what each total includes differs. FMGE passes: 914 of 2,822 candidates (32.4%), NBEMS 2024.
English MediumMBBS in Philippines
A US-style BS+MD in an English-speaking country. Of the eight colleges on our page, only OLFU publishes an international fee: US$3,500 per semester plus a one-time US$6,000 foreign fee. FMGE passes: 2,003 of 9,967 candidates (20.1%), NBEMS 2024, below the all-country average. Check how the BS+MD structure maps to FMGL-2021 before committing.
Neighbouring CountryMBBS in Nepal
No visa needed. FMGE passes: 545 of 1,809 candidates (30.1%), NBEMS 2024, above the all-country average. The catch is price: KUSMS publishes US$75,000 for the course (2026 intake), and BPKIHS US$70,000 in tuition under the scheme it published in 2022.
Central AsiaMBBS in Uzbekistan
The highest country pass rate we compiled for 2024: 197 of 490 candidates (40.2%), NBEMS 2024, a small cohort next to Kyrgyzstan’s 15,135. The one published tuition on our roster: US$3,500 a year at Fergana (2025-26).
English MediumMBBS in Armenia
YSMU publishes AMD 2,600,000 a year for English-medium General Medicine (2026-27). Armenia’s FMGE record is the weakest in our table, 415 of 2,349 candidates (17.7%), NBEMS 2024, so study the specific university before deciding.
Fee on RequestMBBS in Tajikistan
Avicenna, the one university on our roster, publishes no tuition figure, so ask us for a written quote. FMGE passes: 311 of 1,196 candidates (26.0%), NBEMS 2024, right at the all-country average.
South AmericaMBBS in Guyana
English-speaking and WDOMS-listed; University of Guyana publishes US$8,853 in tuition for year one plus a mandatory US$250 yearly facilities fee, and no later-year tuition. NBEMS 2024 lists six Guyana schools but not University of Guyana, and we have not compiled a country pass rate.
Island CampusMBBS in Barbados
Caribbean campuses built around the US route: USMLE, then residency. AUB publishes US$10,800 per Basic Sciences semester (I–IV) and Ross US$25,811 per Foundations semester (2026-27), fees that only make sense when America is the actual plan.
USMLE PathwayMBBS in America (Caribbean MD)
Caribbean MD schools built around USMLE and US residency. Ross publishes US$25,811 per Foundations semester and US$30,500 per clinical semester (2026-27), and SGU US$389,987 in tuition and administrative fees for its four-year MD at 2026/27 rates. The point is a US career; if you may want to practise in India, check the degree against FMGL-2021 first.
The Russian universities students ask us about most
Each with its own NBEMS record, straight from the institute-wise report
Orenburg State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 194 of 447 candidates passed (43.4%), NBEMS
Kazan State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 134 of 436 candidates passed (30.7%), NBEMS
Perm State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 295 of 944 candidates passed (31.3%), NBEMS
Volgograd State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 113 of 586 candidates passed (19.3%), NBEMS
Stavropol State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 132 of 719 candidates passed (18.4%), NBEMS
North Caucasian State Academy
FMGE 2024: 33 of 156 candidates passed (21.1%), NBEMS
Kalmyk State University
No NBEMS record in our dataset yet.
Peoples' Friendship University of Russia (RUDN)
FMGE 2024: 10 of 22 candidates passed (45.5%), NBEMS; too few candidates to be reliable
I.M. Sechenov First Moscow State Medical University
FMGE 2024: 12 of 54 candidates passed (22.2%), NBEMS
How to actually choose
Start from the exam and work backwards. Whichever country you pick, an Indian registration runs through the FMGE, and 20,382 of 79,000 candidates cleared it in 2024. The country averages in the table hide big spreads: among the Russian universities in our FMGE dataset with 100+ candidates in 2024 (ten of them), pass rates ran from 194 of 447 at Orenburg (43.4%) down to 132 of 719 at Stavropol (18.4%), NBEMS 2024. Pick the university on its record first, then the country, then the price.
Two phrases to ignore wherever you meet them. No university anywhere is "NMC approved": NMC states on its own study-abroad page that it endorses no list of foreign institutions. And WHO does not accredit medical schools at all. What you can actually check: the university's WDOMS listing, its NBEMS pass record, and whether the degree meets the FMGL-2021 criteria, meaning 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution, English medium, and a licence to practise in that country, followed by a 12-month internship in India.
The year-by-year numbers behind this page are on our FMGE pass rates hub, and the ranked list is at best FMGE pass-rate universities. If you want them run against your own budget and NEET score, counselling costs nothing.

Not sure which country is right for you?
Our counsellors compare fees, eligibility, and career outcomes across all 15 destinations to help you decide - completely free.