
MBBS in Armenia 2027–28
WDOMS-listed · English medium · No IELTS · YSMU tuition AMD 2,600,000/year
MBBS in Armenia 2027–28 - Universities, Fees, FMGE Rate & Admission Guide for Indian Students
Armenia offers Indian students an MBBS in Yerevan at WDOMS-listed universities, with no IELTS requirement and a USMLE route at schools whose WDOMS entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note. Fees are set by each university and published in Armenian drams: Yerevan State Medical University charges foreign students AMD 2,600,000 a year for its English-medium General Medicine course, on its 2026-27 admissions page.
This guide covers what Indian students and parents need to know for 2027: four universities - YSMU, Yerevan Haybusak and Mkhitar Gosh, which we counsel for, and St. Tereza, which the Embassy of India advises against (Armenia's foreign-applicant portal lists 8 institutions offering General Medicine in all) - fees in Armenian drams as published, NBEMS FMGE records, eligibility criteria, visa process, and an honest, detailed assessment of Armenia's FMGE challenge - verified and updated by A.J Trust Educational Consultancy.
Critical Honest Disclosure - FMGE 2024: 415 of 2,349 Passed (17.67%)
Armenia had the lowest 2024 FMGE pass rate of the 13 countries in our NBEMS dataset - 415 of 2,349 candidates (17.67%), against 20,382 of 79,000 (25.80%) across all countries - although Yerevan State Medical University's own candidates passed 152 of 464 (32.76%). This compares to Bangladesh (914 of 2,822, 32.39%), Russia (3,331 of 11,276, 29.54%) and Kazakhstan (1,261 of 5,018, 25.13%) in the same report (see every university's record). This is the single most important fact about MBBS in Armenia. Students who choose Armenia must commit to rigorous, structured self-study FMGE preparation from Day 1 of Year 1. A.J Trust discloses this prominently to every student before recommending Armenia.
MBBS in Armenia is a 6-year General Medicine course at WDOMS-listed universities in Yerevan. Indian students need a valid NEET qualifying scorecard and 50% PCB in Class 12. No IELTS required, though YSMU sets its own entrance exams. English-medium streams for international students. One intake a year. The USMLE route depends on each school's ECFMG sponsor note. FMGE 2024: 415 of 2,349 passed (17.67%, NBEMS) - the lowest of the 13 countries we track - self-study essential from Day 1.
Course Name
MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine)
Duration
6 years (YSMU, Haybusak)
Total Cost (6 yrs)
Not published by any university listed
Annual Tuition
YSMU: AMD 2,600,000/yr (English medium)
Min. Eligibility
50% PCB; 40% reserved category
Hostel (YSMU)
AMD 90,000/room/month, shared by 2–3
NEET Required
Yes - mandatory
IELTS Required
No (YSMU sets its own English exam)
Teaching Medium
English stream (YSMU, Mkhitar Gosh, Haybusak)
Intake
Once a year (YSMU's 2026-27 applications closed 30 Sept 2026)
Recognition
WDOMS listing - check each school
FMGE Pass Rate
415 of 2,349 (17.67%), NBEMS 2024 - lowest of the 13 countries we track
Quick Facts About Armenia
| Capital | Yerevan |
| Official Language | Armenian | Russian widely used in professional settings | English medium for international students |
| English in Universities | Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) lists English-medium General Medicine at 7 of the 8 institutions offering it, including YSMU, Mkhitar Gosh and Yerevan Haybusak; only the Armenian Medical Institute teaches it in Armenian alone |
| Currency | Armenian Dram (AMD) - fees on this page are quoted in AMD, as the universities and the Ministry portal publish them |
| Time Difference from India (IST) | Armenia Time (AMT) = IST − 1.5 hours |
| Climate (Yerevan) | Hot, dry summers and cold winters |
| Distance from India | No direct flight - MEA notes "a lack of direct air connectivity"; students connect via Dubai, Moscow, or Istanbul |
| Universities | Indian students here are mainly medical students, at one government university (YSMU) and 4–5 private universities (MEA brief, June 2026); the Ministry portal lists 8 institutions offering General Medicine to foreign applicants. NMC keeps no approved list, so check FMGL-2021 yourself |
| Indian Students in Armenia | About 2,066, mainly in medicine (MEA brief, as on 30 June 2026) |
| FMGE Pass Rate (Armenia, 2024) | 415 of 2,349 (17.67%), NBEMS - lowest of the 13 countries in our NBEMS dataset; self-study essential |
| MBBS Intake | Once a year - YSMU took 2026-27 applications from 22 June to 30 September 2026 through fs.emis.am |
| ECFMG Status | Per school: USMLE needs an ECFMG sponsor note on the university's WDOMS entry covering your graduation year |
| Indian Embassy | Embassy of India, Yerevan - operational |
| Source | NMC India - For Students to Study AbroadIndian Embassy, YerevanMEA India-Armenia brief (June 2026)MEA India-Russia brief (June 2026)Armenia foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am)Yerevan State Medical UniversityNBEMS FMGE reports |
Why Consider Armenia for MBBS in 2027? (An Honest Assessment)
Armenia suits a specific profile: students planning on the USMLE route at a school whose WDOMS entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note, or students with a disciplined FMGE self-study plan who want to study in Yerevan. For the majority of Indian students aiming to practise in India through FMGE, countries with stronger FMGE records are recommended first.
WDOMS-listed Universities in Yerevan
The three universities we counsel for on this page are listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools (WDOMS); check each school's entry and FAIMER ID yourself before applying. MEA's June 2026 brief says Indian students in Armenia are mainly medical students, at one government university, Yerevan State Medical University, and 4–5 private universities. YSMU's medical faculty was founded in 1922 and became an independent institute in 1930.
Studying in Yerevan, Armenia's Capital
Yerevan is a compact capital with a metro, cafés and international restaurants. About 2,066 Indian students are in Armenia, mainly studying medicine, by MEA's count as on 30 June 2026. The Embassy of India in Yerevan is active - register with it on arrival.
No IELTS - But YSMU Sets Its Own Entrance Exams
IELTS is not required, but YSMU tests foreign applicants itself: English, plus two of Physics, Chemistry and Biology (for 2026-27, held on 1–2 October 2026, after applications through Armenia's portal fs.emis.am from 22 June to 30 September 2026). Applicants who fail can join YSMU's preparatory department. Other universities set their own rules. You also need a NEET qualifying scorecard to practise in India later. No donation or capitation fees.
USMLE Route - Check the ECFMG Sponsor Note
The USMLE route runs through ECFMG certification, and ECFMG accepts graduates only of schools whose World Directory (WDOMS) entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note covering their graduation year. That is a per-school fact, not a country-wide one: check the note on your university's WDOMS entry before you plan on US practice.
Hot Summers, Cold Winters
Yerevan has hot, dry summers and cold, snowy winters. Pack for both.
Honest Warning: 415 of 2,349 Passed FMGE in 2024 - Self-Study Essential from Day 1
Armenia-trained candidates passed FMGE at 17.67% in NBEMS's 2024 report (415 of 2,349) - the lowest of the 13 countries in our NBEMS dataset, against 20,382 of 79,000 (25.80%) across all countries. The spread by university is wide: Yerevan State Medical University passed 152 of 464 (32.76%), Mkhitar Gosh 52 of 480 (10.83%). A.J Trust discloses this prominently: Armenia suits only students with a disciplined self-study plan from Year 1. If the country FMGE record is your primary criterion, Bangladesh (914 of 2,822, 32.39%), Russia (3,331 of 11,276, 29.54%) and Kazakhstan (1,261 of 5,018, 25.13%) had stronger 2024 records.
MBBS in Armenia vs Other Popular Destinations - Full Comparison
| Factor | Armenia MBBS | Russia MBBS | Bangladesh MBBS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition (as published) | YSMU: AMD 2,600,000 per year (English medium) | USD, by university - see our Russia fee table | By college - see our Bangladesh page |
| FMGE pass rate (NBEMS 2024) | 415 of 2,349 (17.67%) | 3,331 of 11,276 (29.54%) | 914 of 2,822 (32.39%) |
| Indian FMGE candidates (NBEMS 2024) | 2,349 | 11,276 | 2,822 |
| IELTS requirement | Not required (YSMU tests English itself) | Not required | Not required |
| NEET requirement | Yes (qualifying) | Yes (qualifying) | Yes (qualifying) |
| USMLE route | Depends on each school's ECFMG sponsor note | Depends on each school's ECFMG sponsor note | Depends on each school's ECFMG sponsor note |
| Climate | Hot, dry summers; cold winters | Long, cold winters | Tropical, humid monsoon |
Pros and Cons of MBBS in Armenia - Honest Breakdown
Genuine Advantages
- WDOMS-listed universities in Yerevan
- About 2,066 Indian students already in Armenia, mainly in medicine (MEA, June 2026)
- USMLE route open where the school's WDOMS entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note
- No IELTS required (YSMU sets its own entrance exams)
- YSMU says its annual tuition stays the same for the whole course
- PLAB route to UK practice, if the GMC accepts your qualification
Honest Challenges
- Lowest 2024 FMGE rate of the 13 countries in our NBEMS dataset: 415 of 2,349 (17.67%)
- No direct flights from India - connecting via Dubai/Moscow/Istanbul
- A smaller Indian student community - about 2,066 by MEA's June 2026 count, against about 20,000 in Russia (all subjects, MEA India-Russia brief, June 2026) - so fewer seniors for FMGE peer support
- Armenian/Russian dominant off-campus - limited English outside university
- Mkhitar Gosh and Haybusak publish their fee only on the Ministry portal, with no period or academic year
- One intake a year - YSMU's 2026-27 window closed on 30 September 2026
- Plan your own FMGE coaching - do not rely on the university for it
Medical Universities in Armenia for 2027
How to read these cards — and what “WDOMS-listed” really means
NMC publishes no approved list of foreign universities — it says so itself. So no site, including this one, can honestly tell you an Armenian university is “NMC approved”. What decides your future registration is whether your degree is NMC-compliant under FMGL-2021: 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution, English medium, and a qualification that licenses you to practise in that country. After you clear FMGE, FMGL-2021 also requires a further 12-month supervised internship in India.
So we show you the three things that are checkable per university — its World Directory listing, its actual NBEMS FMGE record with denominators, and any NMC alert naming it. Check your shortlist against the FMGL-2021 criteria above, and read NMC’s page for students going abroad, before you pay a single rupee. We explain the whole thing, with every NMC notice that names a foreign university, in is my university WDOMS-listed?
Yerevan State Medical University (YSMU)
Yerevan, Armenia
State medical university; medical faculty founded 1922, an independent institute from 1930; WDOMS-listed. General Medicine runs 6 years. Hostel: AMD 90,000 per room per month, shared by 2 or 3 students (comfort rooms AMD 120,000). Foreign applicants sit YSMU's own entrance exams: English, plus two of Physics, Chemistry and Biology. Highest 2024 FMGE record of any Armenian institution in the NBEMS report.
Yerevan Haybusak University
Yerevan, Armenia
WDOMS-listed. Armenia's foreign-applicant portal lists its General Medicine course in Armenian, Russian and English, 6 years, at AMD 1,400,000 for foreign applicants, without saying per year or for which academic year. Its own website (haybusak.am) showed only an "Opening Soon" page on 4 Oct 2026, so it publishes no fee or hostel details we can check. FMGE 2025: 126 of 684 (18.42%), NBEMS.
Mkhitar Gosh Armenian-Russian International University
Yerevan and Vanadzor, Armenia
WDOMS-listed; addresses in Yerevan and Vanadzor on the Ministry portal, which lists General Medicine in Armenian and English at AMD 1,358,000 for foreign applicants, without saying per year or for which academic year. The university's own 2026-27 fee table leaves every tuition cell blank. 480 FMGE candidates in NBEMS 2024, about as many as YSMU's 464, at a much lower pass rate - rigorous self-study required.
St. Tereza Medical University
Yerevan, Armenia
⚠ Do not apply. The Embassy of India in Yerevan advised Indian students on 24.02.2022 not to take admission here, after Armenia's Ministry of Education terminated the university's licences for its bachelor's and master's programmes. NMC's public notice of 16.03.2022 relays the same order (No. 291-A/2 of 18.02.2022); its earlier notice of 14.01.2022 relayed complaints from Indian students there - degrees denied on completion, extortion, and agents issuing fake admission letters. It is not among the 8 institutions offering General Medicine on Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am, checked 4 Oct 2026). Its FMGE record is the weakest of the four universities on this page (NBEMS prints its 2024 row under two names, 548 + 2 candidates).
MBBS in Armenia - Published Tuition Fees
| University | Tuition for Foreign Students (as published) | Source | Course Total | FMGE (NBEMS) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yerevan State Medical University (YSMU) | AMD 2,600,000 per yearEnglish medium, on YSMU's 2026-27 admissions page; YSMU says the annual fee stays the same for the whole course | ysmu.am | Not published | 152 of 464 (32.76%), NBEMS 2024 |
| Yerevan Haybusak University | AMD 1,400,000 (period not stated)Tuition fee for foreign applicants on Armenia's foreign-applicant portal; the portal states no period or academic year | fs.emis.am | Not published | 114 of 486 (23.46%), NBEMS 2024 |
| Mkhitar Gosh Armenian-Russian International University | AMD 1,358,000 (period not stated)Tuition fee for foreign applicants on Armenia's foreign-applicant portal; the portal states no period or academic year | fs.emis.am | Not published | 52 of 480 (10.83%), NBEMS 2024 |
| St. Tereza Medical University | Do not apply - licence terminatedNo fee shown: Armenia's Ministry of Education terminated its bachelor's and master's licences in 2022 | Embassy of India advisory | Not applicable | 39 of 550 (7.09%), NBEMS 2024; 13 of 578 (2.25%), 2023 |
Note: Fees are shown in Armenian drams (AMD), as each university or Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) publishes them; we do not convert them at a fixed rupee rate. None of these universities publishes a course total. Hostel fees are additional: YSMU charges AMD 90,000 per room per month, shared by 2 or 3 students (comfort rooms AMD 120,000), and the others publish no hostel fee. YSMU also says tuition can, in exceptional cases, be set by the student's individual contract. No donation, no capitation. Contact A.J Trust for an exact, intake-specific fee quote for the university you are considering.
FMGE Reminder: Armenia as a whole passed 415 of 2,349 candidates in NBEMS's 2024 report (17.67%), the lowest of the 13 countries in our dataset, but the three universities above that we counsel for range from Yerevan State Medical University's 152 of 464 (32.76%) to Mkhitar Gosh's 52 of 480 (10.83%). Students choosing Armenia must have a structured, self-directed FMGE preparation plan starting from Year 1. YSMU had the strongest 2024 record of any Armenian institution in the NBEMS report.
Eligibility Criteria for MBBS in Armenia 2027–28
Academic Eligibility
Completed 10+2 (or equivalent) with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology
Minimum 50% aggregate in PCB (40% for reserved category - SC/ST/OBC)
Valid NEET qualifying scorecard (mandatory as per NMC)
Minimum age 17 years by 31st December of the admission year
Check NEET-UG age rules in the current NTA information bulletin
No IELTS required (YSMU sets its own English entrance exam)
Valid passport (confirm the validity the Embassy of Armenia requires)
Required Documents
Class 10 (Secondary) mark sheet & certificate
Class 12 (Higher Secondary) mark sheet & certificate
NEET UG scorecard (qualifying)
Valid passport
Recent passport-size photographs (white background)
Medical fitness certificate from a registered physician
Birth certificate (for age proof)
Bank statement showing sufficient funds (confirm the current requirement with the Embassy)
Character certificate from school / college principal
Admission Process for MBBS in Armenia 2027–28
There is no IELTS requirement, but applications go through Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) and YSMU sets its own entrance exams. Note that A.J Trust begins the counselling process with an honest assessment of whether Armenia is the right choice for your specific FMGE goals before proceeding with an application.
Free Counselling - A.J Trust Assesses Your FMGE Goals
Before recommending Armenia, A.J Trust counsellors will honestly assess whether Armenia suits your FMGE goals, budget, and career pathway. If your primary goal is FMGE success, we will recommend stronger alternatives. If you are targeting USMLE or have a structured FMGE self-study plan, we proceed with the Armenia application.
Application + Document Submission
Required documents: Class 10 & 12 certificates, NEET scorecard, valid passport, passport photos, medical fitness certificate, and birth certificate. Foreign applications go through Armenia's portal, fs.emis.am (YSMU's 2026-27 window ran from 22 June to 30 September 2026). YSMU then holds its own entrance exams; other universities set their own rules. A.J Trust prepares and submits your file.
Admission Letter
The university issues an official admission letter once it accepts you (at YSMU, after its entrance exams). This letter is required for your Armenia student visa application and for future NMC registration. Keep multiple digital and physical copies.
Armenia Student Visa
Apply at the Armenian Embassy in New Delhi with your admission letter, passport, photos, bank statement, and NEET scorecard, and confirm the current processing time and fee with the Embassy. Confirm the current student visa and residence-permit rules with the Embassy of Armenia before you travel.
Fee Payment + Hostel Booking
Pay the first-year tuition and confirm hostel booking before departure. Send fees only to the account the university itself names in your contract or invoice, and confirm the route and charges with your bank first. Hostels are separate from tuition: YSMU charges AMD 90,000 per room per month, shared by 2 or 3 students (comfort rooms AMD 120,000).
Departure + On-Arrival Support in Yerevan
A.J Trust coordinates airport pickup from Zvartnots International Airport, hostel check-in, SIM card, and introduction to the Indian student community at your university. First-week orientation covers campus navigation, library access, local transport, and FMGE preparation resources.
One Intake Per Year: YSMU took 2026-27 applications from foreign citizens from 22 June to 30 September 2026 through fs.emis.am, with entrance exams on 1–2 October 2026. Students must complete NEET and applications well in advance. A.J Trust recommends starting the process by June to ensure documents are ready and the admission letter arrives in time for visa processing.
MBBS in Armenia Syllabus - Year-by-Year Breakdown
The outline below is indicative: the 6-year programme moves from basic and pre-clinical sciences to clinical subjects and final-year clinical training. Each university sets its own curriculum, so ask yours for the official study plan in writing, including how much of the final year is internship.
Basic Sciences
- Anatomy (Gross, Neuro, Histology)
- Physiology (General & Special)
- Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
- Biology & Genetics
- History of Medicine & Medical Ethics
- Latin Terminology
Pre-Clinical Sciences
- Pathology I (General Pathology)
- Microbiology & Virology
- Pharmacology (Basic)
- Histology & Embryology (Advanced)
- Immunology
- Biostatistics & Medical Informatics
Clinical Transition
- Pathology II (Systemic Pathology)
- Clinical Pharmacology
- Propaedeutics of Internal Diseases
- Public Health & Epidemiology
- Forensic Medicine
- Clinical Ward Rotations Begin
Core Clinical Sciences
- Internal Medicine (Cardiology, Pulmonology, Gastroenterology)
- General Surgery & Surgical Diseases
- Obstetrics & Gynaecology
- Paediatrics
- Clinical Diagnostics
- Radiology & Medical Imaging
Advanced Clinical Sciences
- Dermatology & Venereology
- ENT (Otolaryngology)
- Ophthalmology
- Psychiatry & Narcology
- Oncology
- Neurology & Neurosurgery
Final-Year Clinical Training
- Internal Medicine
- Surgery
- Obstetrics & Gynaecology
- Paediatrics
- Emergency Medicine & Community Health
- Final examinations
FMGE Preparation Note: No foreign curriculum is built around the FMGE syllabus, so students must actively map each subject to FMGE topics from Year 1. Use Indian FMGE resources (Marrow, PrepLadder, DAMS) alongside university coursework throughout all 6 years. Do not rely on the university for FMGE preparation. Armenia's 2024 country figure was 415 of 2,349 (17.67%, NBEMS), so plan to self-prepare from Year 1.
NMC Compliance & MBBS Validity in India
For your Armenian degree to count in India, check these five points:
FMGL-2021 Compliance
NMC publishes no approved list of foreign universities, so there is no list to be on. What decides your registration is whether your degree meets the FMGL-2021 criteria: 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution, English medium, and a qualification that licenses you to practise in Armenia, then a further 12-month supervised internship in India. Confirm them with the university in writing before each academic year, not just at admission.
WDOMS Listing
Check that your university appears in the World Directory of Medical Schools (search.wdoms.org) and note its FAIMER School ID before applying.
English-Medium Instruction
The entire MBBS must be taught in English. Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) lists English-medium General Medicine at 7 of the 8 institutions offering it, including YSMU, Mkhitar Gosh and Yerevan Haybusak; only the Armenian Medical Institute teaches it in Armenian alone. Verify with your specific university that your enrollment is in the officially documented English-medium batch.
Valid NEET Score at Admission
Your NEET scorecard must be valid (qualifying score) at the time of admission. NMC cross-checks NEET roll numbers for FMGE eligibility. A non-qualifying or expired score will affect your ability to appear for FMGE after graduation.
Internship at Same University
The 12-month internship must be completed at the same Armenian university that awards your degree. You cannot transfer the internship to India or any other country. FMGL-2021 does not count it toward the 54 months of study, so get the study/internship split written on your admission letter.
Career Pathways After MBBS in Armenia
An Armenian medical degree can lead to six career pathways, each with its own conditions. For Indian practice, the FMGE route requires exceptional self-preparation. For the USMLE, check your school's ECFMG sponsor note on WDOMS first.
Practice in India
Pass FMGE, complete the 12-month supervised internship in India that FMGL-2021 requires, then register with the NMC or your State Medical Council. FMGE stays the route "until National Exit Test (NEXT) comes into force" (NMC draft amendment, Gazette of 11 Aug 2026); no NExT date has been notified, and NBEMS now holds FMGE three times a year (notice of 28 Aug 2026). Armenia's 2024 FMGE record - 415 of 2,349 (17.67%, NBEMS) - means self-directed preparation from Year 1 is non-negotiable. YSMU had the strongest 2024 record of the Armenian universities on this page (152 of 464, 32.76%). Begin structured FMGE preparation with Marrow/PrepLadder from Year 1 - do not rely on university preparation alone.
USA (USMLE)
USMLE requires ECFMG certification, and ECFMG accepts graduates only of schools whose WDOMS entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note covering their graduation year. Check that note on your university's WDOMS entry before relying on this route. Strong US clinical preparation alongside regular coursework is recommended.
United Kingdom (UK)
Clear PLAB Part 1 (MCQ) and PLAB Part 2 (OSCE), obtain GMC registration, and apply for NHS posts. The GMC decides whether your primary medical qualification is acceptable for PLAB, so check your university and graduation year with the GMC before relying on this route.
Middle East (UAE, Saudi, Qatar)
Gulf regulators - DHA (Dubai), DoH (Abu Dhabi), the health ministries and SCFHS (Saudi Arabia) - each assess your qualification and clinical experience against their own rules. Check the current requirements with the regulator before planning on this route.
Armenia Practice
Practising in Armenia means meeting the Armenian Ministry of Health's licensing rules, including any language requirement for patient care. Check the current conditions with the Ministry before planning on this route.
NEET-PG Specialisation
Clear FMGE and complete the 12-month supervised internship in India to become eligible for NEET-PG. Students must actively map Armenian coursework to Indian examination standards. Begin parallel NEET-PG preparation from Year 4 using standard Indian resources.
Popular Countries to Study MBBS Abroad
Explore MBBS destinations and their WDOMS-listed universities - compare fees, duration, and eligibility.

MBBS Abroad
Belarus

MBBS Abroad
Uzbekistan

MBBS Abroad
Philippines

MBBS Abroad
Poland

MBBS Abroad
Kyrgyzstan

MBBS Abroad
Guyana

MBBS Abroad
Russia

MBBS Abroad
Nepal
FAQs - MBBS in Armenia 2027
Honest answers to the most common questions Indian students and parents ask before applying to Armenia - including its FMGE record.
In NBEMS's 2024 report, 415 of 2,349 Armenia-trained candidates passed FMGE (17.67%) - the lowest of the 13 countries in our NBEMS dataset, against 20,382 of 79,000 (25.80%) across all countries; in 2023 it was 134 of 1,654 (8.10%). The spread inside Armenia is wide: in 2024 Yerevan State Medical University passed 152 of 464 (32.76%), Yerevan Haybusak 114 of 486 (23.46%), Mkhitar Gosh 52 of 480 (10.83%) and St. Tereza, which the Embassy of India advises against, 39 of 550 (7.09%). For comparison, Bangladesh passed 914 of 2,822 (32.39%), Russia 3,331 of 11,276 (29.54%) and Kyrgyzstan 3,792 of 15,135 (25.05%) that year. This is the single most important fact about MBBS in Armenia. Students who choose Armenia must have a rigorous, structured self-study plan starting from Year 1. A.J Trust will always advise you honestly on this before recommending Armenia.
Each university sets its own fee, and we quote it in Armenian drams (AMD), as published, rather than converting it at a fixed rupee rate. Yerevan State Medical University charges foreign students AMD 2,600,000 per year for General Medicine taught in English, on its 2026-27 admissions page, and says the annual fee stays the same for the whole course. Its hostel costs AMD 90,000 per room per month, divided between 2 or 3 roommates (comfort rooms AMD 120,000). Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) gives a tuition fee for foreign applicants of AMD 1,358,000 at Mkhitar Gosh and AMD 1,400,000 at Yerevan Haybusak, without stating the period or academic year. None of these universities publishes a six-year total. No donation, no capitation. Contact A.J Trust for an exact 2027 quote.
About 2,066 Indian students are in Armenia, mainly studying medicine, by MEA's count as on 30 June 2026, and the Embassy of India in Yerevan is active. Yerevan is generally calm for students; register with the Embassy on arrival. Note: Armenia and Azerbaijan have a long-running border conflict, so follow regional news and the Embassy's advisories.
Yerevan is a compact capital with a social scene, café culture, international restaurants, and public transport including a metro. Summers are hot and dry and winters cold.
No. IELTS is NOT required for MBBS in Armenia. YSMU does test foreign applicants itself - English, plus two of Physics, Chemistry and Biology - and other universities set their own admission rules. Armenia's foreign-applicant portal (fs.emis.am) lists English-medium General Medicine at 7 of the 8 institutions offering the course, including YSMU, Mkhitar Gosh and Yerevan Haybusak. To practise in India later you also need a NEET qualifying score and 50% PCB in Class 12.
For FMGE success: No. In NBEMS's 2024 report Bangladesh passed 914 of 2,822 (32.39%) and Russia 3,331 of 11,276 (29.54%), against Armenia's 415 of 2,349 (17.67%). Armenia is the better choice only if: (1) your primary target is USMLE/PLAB rather than FMGE, and your university meets that route's conditions, (2) you have a strong, disciplined FMGE self-study plan starting from Year 1, or (3) you prefer Yerevan as a place to study and accept the FMGE record above. A.J Trust will help you assess which destination genuinely suits your goals.
It depends on your university, not on Armenia. USMLE requires ECFMG certification, and ECFMG accepts graduates only of schools whose World Directory (WDOMS) entry carries an ECFMG sponsor note covering their graduation year. Check that note on your university's WDOMS entry before you count on this route. If it is there, you can sit USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK on the way to ECFMG certification and apply for US residency programs.
If you choose Armenia, implement this FMGE strategy from Day 1: Year 1–2: Build basic sciences foundation using Marrow/PrepLadder alongside university coursework. Year 3: Begin subject-wise FMGE MCQ practice. Year 4–5: Parallel clinical subjects with FMGE clinical medicine, surgery, and ob-gyn MCQ practice. Year 6 internship: Full-time FMGE revision. Post-graduation: Join a structured FMGE crash course (DAMS, Marrow, PrepLadder). Armenia's 2024 country figure was 415 of 2,349 (17.67%, NBEMS), so most candidates did not pass - a structured plan from Year 1 is the part you control.
Still have questions?
Our senior counsellors are here to help - honest, personalised guidance with a reply within minutes and zero pressure.

Considering MBBS in Armenia? Talk to Us First.
A.J Trust will give you an honest assessment of whether Armenia suits your FMGE goals and career pathway - before you apply. Free counselling, no pressure, no hidden fees.